Subscribe to Blog
September 27, 2019 | 0 comments

Eleven individuals hailing from six countries around the world, including Peru, Japan, Brazil, Netherlands, Togo and the U.S., have been inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame for their pioneering and visionary contributions to the Internet’s global growth, access and security. 

The inductees, who were honored at a special ceremony in San José, Costa Rica, have expanded the Internet’s reach into new regions and communities, helped foster a greater understanding of the way the Internet works, and enhanced security to increase user trust in the network. 

“The Internet's design has always enabled people to see a problem, and get to work on solving it,” said Andrew Sullivan, Internet Society President and CEO. “This year's inductees have given us all great gifts of their creative approaches to issues they saw on the Internet. We can take inspiration from them to tackle the next round of challenges."

The 2019 inductees: 

  • Adiel Akplogan (Africa) advanced the Internet in Africa and served as founding CEO of the Regional Internet Registry for Africa

  • Kimberly Claffy (United States) pioneered the field of Internet data...

September 23, 2019 | 0 comments

Fifty years of tech experience have Bob Metcalfe optimistic about the web’s future.

A 2013 inductee into the Internet Hall of Fame, Metcalfe is the author of a 1973 memo that invented Ethernet, of which more than 1.2 billion new ports are shipped each year -- 400 million wired and 800 million WiFi. Prior to that, he built a high-speed network interface, and protocol software between a packet switching ARPAnet IMP and PDP-10 time-sharing minicomputer at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

In an interview with Xconomy, Metcalfe acknowledged that there are still access issues, particularly with respect to infrastructure delays and state censorship. However, his decades of experience leave him optimistic that the access issues will shrink over time rather than be magnified. 

“I guess I’ve learned over the years that cynics are often right, but they never get anything done,” he said. “Cynicism and negativity are a dead end. Every once in a while, things look bleak, but then they get better.”...

September 13, 2019 | 0 comments

International and long distance education collaboration has come a long way since Yvonne Marie Andres’ first foray in project-based learning. 

A 2017 inductee into the Internet Hall of Fame, Andres was one of the first to develop and utilize online learning programs for students and educators. Among the education initiatives she helped develop are Global SchoolNet, Global Schoolhouse, the International Cyberfair and the U.S. State Department-backed Doors to Diplomacy Program

Although web-based collaboration has now become second nature for many teachers, it was a challenging sell for Andres in the early days. Few school districts had internet access in the early 1980s and even fewer teachers were trained on how to use the new technology. The handful that did have the necessary computer skills needed additional coaching to be able to fully utilize the new tool at their...

September 4, 2019 | 0 comments

The first draft is in on a proposed Internet user agreement from one of the web’s founders – and he wants feedback.

Citing a rise in hate speech and government censorship efforts, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, who helped develop the World Wide Web 30 years ago while at CERN, announced his intent in November to put together a “contract for the web” to facilitate its continued existence for future generations. 

The document itself, as noted in a recent CNET story, is designed to be a collaborative affair. It includes parameters for governments, companies and citizens, but it also requires input from those three groups to shape it. 

The final version is slated to be released in late 2019.

September 3, 2019 | 0 comments

On 27 September, the Internet Society will gather to reveal the fifth class of Internet Hall of Fame inductees, and there are three ways that you can participate in this historic event.  

The induction ceremony, which will be held in San José, Costa Rica, will be broadcast via LiveStream. We will also be posting ceremony highlights on Twitter @Internet_hof (#ihof2019) and Facebook as they happen.

This ceremony marks the first time the awards have been held in Latin America since the program’s inception. The first Internet Hall of Fame was held in Geneva, Switzerland in 2012, and ceremonies have since been held in Berlin, Hong Kong and Los Angeles. 

Costa Rica was chosen to host the event in part because of the strong example it has set in employing a collaborative approach to Internet governance, and because of the systematic approach it has taken in closing the country’s digital divide.